Seed

Seed by Lisa Heathfield818hhkpufkl

Where did I get it?- School Library

Synopsis: All that Pearl knows can be encapsulated in one word: Seed. It is the isolated community that she was born into. It is the land that she sows and reaps. It is the center of her family and everything that means home. And it is all kept under the watchful eye of Papa S.

At fifteen years old, Pearl is finally old enough to be chosen as Papa S’s companion. She feels excitement… and surprising trepidation that she cannot explain. The arrival of a new family into the Seed community — particularly the teenage son, Ellis — only complicates the life and lifestyle that Pearl has depended upon as safe and constant. 

Ellis is compelling, charming, and worldly, and he seems to have a lot of answers to questions Pearl has never thought to ask. But as Pearl digs to the roots of the truth, only she can decide what she will allow to come to the surface.

My thoughts:

I can’t say I really enjoyed this book. The main character, Pearl, is very innocent and does not really understand what is going on half the time. I get that she is being lied to about the world, but even when the clues that something is wrong start to pop up she blatantly ignores them.

Another aspect of the book I disliked, was the romance. From the synopsis I was lead to believe that Ellis and Pearl would be involved romantically, but after reading the book I can’t say that anything between them really happened.

The writing, however, was good and for the first few chapters I was hooked- (it was only towards the end that  I lost interest). Although, this book was not to my taste, I will probably pick up the sequel when it comes out just to see what happens next.

Rating: 3/5

3 comments

Leave a Reply

