The Unlikely Hero Of Room 13B

The Unlikely Hero Of Room 13B by Teresa Toten

Where did I get it? The school library

51olnh42hnl-_sy344_bo1204203200_Synopsis: When Adam meets Robyn at a support group for kids coping with obsessive-compulsive disorder, he is drawn to her almost before he can take a breath. He’s determined to protect and defend her–to play Batman to her Robyn–whatever the cost. But when you’re fourteen and the everyday problems of dealing with divorced parents and step-siblings are supplemented by the challenges of OCD, it’s hard to imagine yourself falling in love. How can you have a “normal” relationship when your life is so fraught with problems? And that’s not even to mention the small matter of those threatening letters Adam’s mother has started to receive . 

My Thoughts:

When I originally picked up this book, I did not expect to like it as much as I did.

It was among the new books I found in my library, and the only reason I picked it up was because I had wanted to read a book with a character that faces similar problems as Evie in ‘Am I Normal Yet?’. 

The main character, Adam was in no way similar to Evie but nevertheless I enjoyed this book all the same.

Adam was a great protagonist and I loved hearing the story from his point of view. His interactions with his step-brother, Sweetie, were definitely my favourite parts of the book and the way that all topics were handled with sensitivity and honesty, just made me appreciate this book all the more.

I would certainly recommend this novel, I liked the plot and characters and the dark truth about the letters that Adam’s mother was receiving was a twist I never saw coming.

My Rating: 4/5

 

Leave a Reply

