Illuminae

Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

Where did I get it? I bought it.

Summary: This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.9781780748375_0

This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.

My Thoughts:

I actually originally borrowed this books from the library, but around half-way in I just knew that this was a book that I needed to own. Luckily,  I managed to convince my friend who was also my Secret Santa (she is not the best secret keeper) to buy it for me.

Illuminae is not told through the point of the main character, rather through different accounts and messages and video surveillances and This originality was one of the many aspects I loved abut this book.

We open the book just a little after the attack on the MC’s home planet and from then on I was hooked. The detail put in was amazing and the plot was so full of twists and turns I had just about recovered before I was gasping for breath all over again!

I loved the characters, both Kady and Ezra were extremely brave in the face of all the horrible events going on and I felt my heart break for everything they had to go through. There was a particular scene when they were messaging and Ezra sent Kady a flower made out of words that has my heart threatening to burst out of my chest. I want to say more but I really can’t without giving away spoilers…

I could probably ramble on about this book for ages and ages, but I will let you read it yourself if you want to know more. Please read this book!

My Rating: 5/5

 

 

4 comments

Leave a Reply

