Saint Anything

Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen

Where did I get it? Given as a gift

23009402Synopsis: Peyton, Sydney’s charismatic older brother, has always been the star of the family, receiving the lion’s share of their parents’ attention and—lately—concern. When Peyton’s increasingly reckless behavior culminates in an accident, a drunk driving conviction, and a jail sentence, Sydney is cast adrift, searching for her place in the family and the world. When everyone else is so worried about Peyton, is she the only one concerned about the victim of the accident?

Enter the Chathams, a warm, chaotic family who run a pizza parlor, play bluegrass on weekends, and pitch in to care for their mother, who has multiple sclerosis. Here Sydney experiences unquestioning acceptance. And here she meets Mac, gentle, watchful, and protective, who makes Sydney feel seen, really seen, for the first time.

My Thoughts:

From previous experience with Sarah Dessen’s novels I started Saint Anything not really expecting to like it very much. However that was not the case!

I felt genuinely sorry for Sydney as she was constantly rated behind her brother, Peyton, in terms of importance. Her mother was portrayed well and I felt frustrated when she took away Sydney’s privileges and over-looked Sydney’s point of view on the matter.

The rest of Sydney’s family did not really play that big a role in the plot. This wasn’t really an issue for me, other than I would have liked to see more into Peyton’s mind and what he was thinking, wasting his life like that!

The Chatham family were well written and I felt all the siblings shared a realistic love-hate relationship with each other. The family restaurant that the family owned was a nice touch to the novel and all that talk of pizza and fries has left me feeling very hungry!

The romance in the novel was nicely balanced out with the issues that Sydney was going through at home and the friendship that Layla and the MC shared was one that I wish everyone could experience.

One problem I did have with Saint Anything, however was the ending. It was a slight cliff-hanger and I would like to have seen what happened next. Considering this is most likely a stand-alone novel I probably won’t have the chance to see how David Ibarra reacted and this lowered the over-all rating for me.

I would probably recommend this book and I will definitely be considering reading more of Sarah Dessen’s work in the future.

Rating: 3.5/5

2 comments

  1. I am kind of shocked that you gave this book such a low rating for such a small reason. I personally LOVED this book and would give it 5 stars all around and recommend this book, as well as any of Sarah’s other books, to anyone. I think you may be looking at this from the wrong perspective. I totally understand being dissapointed in the cliffhanger ending, I mean I definitely would have liked too see what that conversation would have been like, but I don’t think the actual conversation was the point. Throughout the book, Sydney was plagued with guilt over what her brother did (and her parents vile reaction) and even expressed that she wished that she could have apologized to him or atleast let him know that even if no one else cared, that she did. Sydney had two run ins with David where she either ran or froze up and I think the whole point of the ending was the fact that she finally got the courage to meet with him and look him in the eye and apologize and say everything she wanted to say to him. Also, in Sarah Dessen books, I think it is safe to say that the ending is always good and also that even if in a very small way, we will get to see how things turn out for Sydney in a future book.

    Anyway cute blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I guess I see where you are coming from. I like the development that Sydney experienced throughout the book. I recently read “The Moon and More” and I would give that book 4 stars. Anyway, thank you for taking the time to comment, and I will definitely be reading more of Sarah’s books.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

