Throne of Glass

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

throne_of_glass_ukSummary: After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her… but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead… quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

My Thoughts:

I have re-read this book so many times I feel like I know it from cover to cover. Although I did not immediately connect with Celeana by the end of the book I was in love.

Celaena was so bad-ass and I enjoyed learning that even after all that she has seen and done and been through she can still have fun and laugh. All the times that she fought were so well written that I felt like I was right there in the same room. Her training scenes were some of my favourite parts of the book, everything was told in such high definition!

None of the characters were one dimensional (especially Dorian) and I wanted to get to know them all better. At the end of the novel, I was sad to see how things played out between Dorian and Celaena but I can see why it had to be that way.

I would recommend Throne Of Glass to fantasy fans and pretty much anyone who loves a strong heroine. I am so glad that this a six-book series!

Rating: 5/5

5 comments

  1. Am absolutely in love with this blog! It’s so enjoyable to read and your comments are very perceptive! keep up the good work! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

