The Radleys

The Radleys by Matt Haig

Where did I get it? The school library

41pckvr7bql-_sx324_bo1204203200_Summary: Life with the Radleys: Radio 4, dinner parties with the Bishopthorpe neighbours and self-denial. Loads of self-denial. But all hell is about to break loose. When teenage daughter Clara gets attacked on the way home from a party, she and her brother Rowan finally discover why they can’t sleep, can’t eat a Thai salad without fear of asphyxiation and can’t go outside unless they’re smothered in Factor 50.

With a visit from their lethally louche Uncle Will and an increasingly suspicious police force, life in Bishopthorpe is about to change. Drastically.

 

My Thoughts:

I had been meaning to read a book by Matt Haig for a while, so when I found this book in the library I knew this was my chance.

My first reaction after reading the blurb was that “The Radleys” sounded a lot like the “The Addams Family” for some reason. I absolutely adore that movie (especially Wednesday Addams) so I couldn’t wait to start this book.

All of the chapters immensely inventive and I enjoyed the opportunity to view all the characters thoughts and feelings at different points throughout the novel. The entire plot was so very well detailed and I could not have asked for a more engaging read.

Every one should read this book and I cannot rave about its uniqueness enough. I need to go and pick up The Humans next and hopefully it will be as good.

Rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

