The Perks of Being a Wallflower

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Where did I get it? I bought it

61t67xhl2cl-_sx321_bo1204203200_Summary: Charlie is a freshman. And while he’s not the biggest geek in the school, he is by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his years yet socially awkward, he is a wallflower, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it. Charlie is attempting to navigate his way through uncharted territory: the world of first dates and mixed tapes, family dramas and new friends; the world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite. But Charlie can’t stay on the sideline forever. Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor.

 

 

My Thoughts:

I seriously can’t believe that I took so long to finally read this book. The Perks of Being a Wallflower is woven beautifully and the words just flow from one page to the next. Our protagonist, Charlie, is delicate and real and his thoughts were so profound I felt touched and saddened by his tale.

There were many poignant characters and I could sympathise with the confusion Charlie was feeling as he tried to ascertain his love for Sam and his friendship with Patrick and the others.

I haven’t really read many novels like this one though I did try Kate Sclesa’s “Fans of the Impossible Life” which I found not to my liking.  Saying this, I will defiantly be looking out for more books akin to The Perks of Being a Wallflower. There were many sensitive topics broached in this book and I felt all of them were handled with the utmost care.

I’m not sure if the film adaptation is any good, but I intend to find out as soon as I have some free time.

A must read for all!

Rating: 5/5

4 comments

  1. I KNOW I couldn’t believe it took me ages to actually read this book too!! 😀
    I watched the movie ASAP after reading the book, and it was actually so good!
    One of the best book-to-movie adaptions I’ve seen – apart from missing out on one or two things, they really maintained the mood of the book and kept true to the book in general ❤
    Hope you get time to watch the movie soon! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

